Tricia Helfer, Michael Trucco to Present at Eisner Awards

San Diego Comic Con

Tricia Helfer, Michael Trucco to Present at Eisner Awards

Debi Derryberry Added to Presenter List

SAN DIEGO – Two Battlestar Galactica fan-favorite actors will be presenting at this year’s Will Eisner Comic Industry Awards, considered the “Oscars” of the comic book industry. Tricia Helfer, best known for her role as “Six” on Battlestar Galactica, has also starred on Dark Blue; guest starred on such shows as Burn Notice, Chuck, and Human Target; and provided voices for video games Halo, Mass Effect, and Starcraft and the animated Tron: Uprising and The Super Hero Squad Show, among others. Michael Trucco, who played Samuel T. Anders on Battlestar, is currently starring in USA’s Fairly Legal. His other TV credits include Big Bang Theory, Castle, and Psych. He is the voice of Adam Strange in the animated Young Justice series.

Voice actor Debi Derryberry (voice of Jimmy Neutron, Draculara of Monster High, among many others) will also be on hand for the awards festivities.

The 24th annual Eisner Awards, sponsored by Syfy, will be held Friday, July 13 in the Indigo Ballroom at the Hilton San Diego Bayfront. They honor the best works and creators in the comics industry.

Previously announced presenters include British talk show host and comics author Jonathan Ross; The Walking Dead’s Robert Kirkman and Charlie Adlard; actress Erin Gray (Buck Rogers, Silver Spoons); voice actor Phil LaMarr (Futurama, Young Justice); Bongo Comics creative director Bill Morrison (The Simpsons); nominee Eric Powell (The Goon); and Comic-Con special guests Lynn Johnston (For Better or For Worse), Michael Uslan (Batman movie producer and Archie comics writer), and Sergio Aragon├ęs (MAD magazine).

The doors for the event will open at 7:45, and the ceremonies will get under way at 8:00. Attendance at the event is free to anyone with a Comic-Con badge. Advance seating for VIPs (nominees, sponsors, presenters) and those with pro badges will begin at 7:00. The ceremony is expected to run until about 10:30. All who attend the awards ceremony will receive a graphic novel from the Will Eisner Library, published by DC Comics.

The Eisner Awards are part of, and underwritten by, Comic-Con International, a nonprofit educational organization dedicated to creating awareness of and appreciation for comics and related popular art forms, primarily through the presentation of conventions and events that celebrate the historic and ongoing contributions of comics to art and culture. More information about the Eisner Awards can be found at

Leave a Reply